All Sony wants for Christmas is a fake PSP blog
December 12th, 2006
[Updated: Dec 15, 2006 @ 3:30 am] Looks like the plug has been pulled on the blog and the whole site's been deleted.
What is it with PR companies and fake blogs? They're so desperate to join in with the rest of the blogosphere that honesty goes completely out of the window.
The latest company (Edelman and Wal-Mart know all about fake blogs) to front a fake blog is Sony with All I Want For Xmas is a PSP, run by ad company ZIPATONI. Here's the first post, which will give you a feel for the blog:
i (charlie) have a psp. my friend jeremy does not. but he wants one this year for xmas.
so we started clowning with sum not-so-subtle hints to j's parents that a psp would be teh perfect gift. we created this site to spread the luv to those like j who want a psp!
consider us your own personal psp hype machine, here to help you wage a holiday assault on ur parents, girl, granny, boss – whoever – so they know what you really want.
we'll let you know how it works for us. pls return the favor.
more to come,
c&j.
What's really sad about this blog is that the visitors have already figured out that it's a fake blog and make this know through comments. What's pathetic is that the people behind the blog are still denying the fact with comments such as this gem:
yo where all u hatas com from... juz cuz you aint feelin the flow of PSP dun mean its sum mad faek website or summ... youall be trippin.
Makes me cringe to read that.
Want proof that the site is a fake that belongs to an ad company? Just check out the WHOIS info:
Registrant:
the ZIPATONI co.
Gregory Meyerkord
555 Washington Ave. 3rd Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
US
Registrar Name....: REGISTER.COM, INC.
Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: www.register.comDomain Name: alliwantforxmasisapsp.com
Created on..............: Tue, Nov 14, 2006
Expires on..............: Wed, Nov 14, 2007
Record last updated on..: Tue, Nov 14, 2006Administrative Contact:
the ZIPATONI co.
Gregory Meyerkord
555 Washington Ave. 3rd Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
US
Phone: +1.3142312400Technical Contact:
Registercom
Domain Registrar
575 8th Avenue
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: +1.9027492701
Lame.
This entry was posted on Tuesday, December 12th, 2006 at 16:18 and is filed under Random Stuff .... You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.







December 15th, 2006 at 10:35
[...] The really bad elements (and there were some REALLY bad elements) were taken down and replaced with a short acknowledgement from Sony, rather in the air of a naughty schoolboy which has been caught cheating. That too now seems to have disappeared along with the site. However, if you want some detail of what was previously there then you will find some views on it at ZDNet and PC Doctor. [...]